Neil Astley


100 Love Poems

Neil Astley

Publication Date : 30 Jan 2014

ISBN: 9781852248697

Pages: 65
Size :216 x 138mm
Rights: World

Passionfood is a feast of classic and contemporary love poems. There are a hundred flavours in this four-course celebration of love, passion and desire.

Compiled by Staying Alive editor Neil Astley, its menu is distinctively different from that of other anthologies of love poetry. There are no broken hearts here. Passionfood is a celebration of true love – love that grows into love that lasts, love that fills every part of our lives, love that never leaves us.

Passionfood opens with a starter selection of poems about attraction, desire and longing. Passion is the main course: the excitement of love, being and staying in love, including many of the greatest poems in our literature – by writers such as Shakespeare, John Donne, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Emily Dickinson, Yeats and Auden.

For dessert, the book offers deliciously saucy poems by leading contemporary poets. But like love, Passionfood is a feast which doesn’t have to end. The fruit that follows dessert offers still more poetry to savour: poems about deepening love and friendship, love that never leaves us, poems celebrating closeness, trust and mutual understanding, poems of joy, wisdom and shared recognition.

Passionfood is a book of positive, provocative and witty love poems for everyone whose life has been nourished and sustained by love, mixing passion with food for thought. It’s also a book which holds out hope, and as such, a perfect gift for the person you love, for weddings and engagements, birthdays, anniversaries and Valentine's Day.

This new edition is beautifully presented in a quarter-bound hardback gift format.


Three poems about love from Passionfood

Helen Dunmore reads 'Wild strawberries', Selima Hill reads 'Desire's a Desire' and Jackie Kay reads 'Late Love', three of a hundred poems included in the anthology. The three films on this sampler are from the DVD-book In Person: 30 Poets filmed by Pamela Robertson-Pearce, edited by Neil Astley.



BOOKS BY Neil Astley

Being Alive

Neil Astley

Being Alive

the sequel to Staying Alive

Publication Date : 28 Oct 2004
Being Human

Neil Astley

Being Human

the companion anthology to Staying Alive and Being Alive

Publication Date : 30 Mar 2011
Do Not Go Gentle

Neil Astley

Do Not Go Gentle

Poems for Funerals

Publication Date : 25 Sep 2003
Essential Poems from the Staying Alive Trilogy

Neil Astley

Essential Poems from the Staying Alive Trilogy

Publication Date : 24 May 2012


Wild Nights
The Honey Gatherers
Portable Kisses
Pleased to See Me



View Larger Text