Roddy Lumsden shortlisted for T S Eliot Prize 2017

Roddy Lumsden shortlisted for T S Eliot Prize 2017


Roddy  Lumsden's tenth collection So Glad I'm Me was shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize 2017.

The prize is Britain’s richest, with each shortlisted poet receiving £1,500.  To mark the 25th anniversary of the T S Eliot Prize, the T S Eliot Foundation increased the winner’s prize money to £25,000.

Judges Bill Herbert (Chair), James Lasdun and Helen Mort chose a shortlist on ten books from a record 154 poetry collections submitted by publishers.

Readings by the shortlisted poets took place on Sunday 14 January 2018 in the Royal Festival Hall at London’s Southbank Centre, hosted by Ian McMillan.  The readings can be heard here.   The winner of the 2017 prize was announced at a ceremony on Monday 15 January 2018 and broadcast on BBC Radio 4's Front Row.  The prize went to Ocean Vuong for his debut collection Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Cape Poetry).  Both he and Chair of Judges Bill Herbert were interviewed on Front Row.


T S Eliot Prize 2017 shortlist:

Tara Bergin – The Tragic Death of Eleanor Marx (Carcanet)

Caroline Bird – In these Days of Prohibition (Carcanet)

Douglas Dunn – The Noise of a Fly (Faber & Faber)

Leontia Flynn – The Radio (Cape Poetry)

Roddy Lumsden – So Glad I’m Me (Bloodaxe)

Michael Symmons Roberts – Mancunia (Cape Poetry)

Robert Minhinnick – Diary of the Last Man (Carcanet)

James Sheard – The Abandoned Settlements (Cape Poetry)

Jacqueline Saphra – All My Mad Mothers (Nine Arches Press)

Ocean Vuong – Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Cape Poetry)

Click here to read full details of the T S Eliot Prize and the shortlisted titles

A film of Roddy Lumsden speaking about So Glad I'm Me is here.

He reads his poem 'Kissing Edwin Morgan' from the collection here.

He reads 'The Hoopoe' here.

[16 January 2018]

Back to News And Publicity




View Smaller Text