Roddy Lumsden shortlisted for T S Eliot Prize 2017

Roddy Lumsden shortlisted for T S Eliot Prize 2017


Roddy  Lumsden's tenth collection So Glad I'm Me is on the ten-title shortlist for the T S Eliot Prize 2017, it was announced on 19 October 2017. 

The prize is Britain’s richest, with each shortlisted poet receiving £1,500.  To mark the 25th anniversary of the T S Eliot Prize, the T S Eliot Foundation has increased the winner’s prize money to £25,000.

Judges Bill Herbert (Chair), James Lasdun and Helen Mort have chosen shortlist on ten books from a record 154 poetry collections submitted by publishers.

Readings by the shortlisted poets will take place on will take place on Sunday 14 January 2018 in the Royal Festival Hall at London’s Southbank Centre, hosted by Ian McMillan.  The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced at a ceremony on Monday 15 January 2018.


T S Eliot Prize 2017 shortlist:

Tara Bergin – The Tragic Death of Eleanor Marx (Carcanet)

Caroline Bird – In these Days of Prohibition (Carcanet)

Douglas Dunn – The Noise of a Fly (Faber & Faber)

Leontia Flynn – The Radio (Cape Poetry)

Roddy Lumsden – So Glad I’m Me (Bloodaxe)

Michael Symmons Roberts – Mancunia (Cape Poetry)

Robert Minhinnick – Diary of the Last Man (Carcanet)

James Sheard – The Abandoned Settlements (Cape Poetry)

Jacqueline Saphra – All My Mad Mothers (Nine Arches Press)

Ocean Vuong – Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Cape Poetry)

Click here to read full details of the T S Eliot Prize and the shortlisted titles

A film of Roddy Lumsden speaking about So Glad I'm Me is here.

He reads his poem 'Kissing Edwin Morgan' from the collection here.

He reads 'The Hoopoe' here.

[11 December 2017]

Back to News And Publicity




View Smaller Text