Nia Davies' All Fours on Roland Mathias shortlist

Nia Davies' All Fours on Roland Mathias shortlist

Nia Davies’ first full-length collection All Fours has been shortlisted for the Roland Mathias Poetry Award, the English language poetry category of the Wales Book of the Year Awards.  The announcement was made on Friday 11 May 2018.

On the English-language judging panel this year are: award-winning author Cynan Jones; journalist, broadcaster and author, Carolyn Hitt; and distinguished poet and editor, Kathryn Gray. On behalf of the panel, Carolyn Hitt said: “… this a shortlist that reflects the diversity and quality of Welsh writing in English – from established names at the peak of their powers to the breakthrough of exciting new voices.”

Fellow Bloodaxe poet Gwyneth Lewis has been shortlisted for the Welsh-language Poetry Award for her collection Treiglo (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas).

The winners of the award will be announced at an Award Ceremony held at Tramshed, Cardiff on the evening of Tuesday 26th June. Each category winner will receive a prize of £1,000, and the main award winners in each language will receive an additional £3,000. Each winner will also receive a specially commissioned trophy created by the artist Angharad Pearce Jones.
At the Award Ceremony both the People’s Choice Award and Gwobr Barn y Bobl (the Welsh-language people’s prize) will also be presented to the reading public’s favourite title from the shortlists.

Click here for the full shortlists.

'Profane and charismatic, lovely and at times infuriating, Nia Davies’s poetry glitters above all thanks to its energy.' - Leaf Arbuthnot, Times Literary Supplement

Click here to read the full TLS review.

Click here for an in-depth review on the Poetry School blog.

[14 May 2018]

Back to News And Publicity




View Larger Text